Never depend on yourself or your strength.

Ouch, sounds harsh, doesn’t it? I mean, why give me muscles if it’s not there for me to really use my strength? Why give me freedom if even my own thoughts are restricted anyway?

“But ever since I was in school, I’ve always been encouraged to “believe in yourself and you can do anything”, to think that “I can do it!”, to have the attitude that “I can shape my own destiny”… are you telling me that this is all wrong?”

To me, this is one of the conflicts that lies in this broken world today. Imagine if you’ve ‘believed’ that you ‘can do it’, and you failed to successfully reach your goal… what would come out of that? The answer is everywhere you see: depression, sadness, broken relationships, anxiety, suicide, and most importantly, a decrease of faith in God.

There are many things that can be said about this, but in this post, we will focus on a few key verses in the Bible.

One of the key verses, you all may and should already know:

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV)
Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

That’s the key! We ALL lean on our own understanding; we ALL depend on our own strength; we FAIL to acknowledge him, which is why we get so confused and start to question things; and we DON’T trust in the Lord, but we trust in ourselves. Before doing anything, try this: pray before you do anything. Lift God up, and really believe it. Don’t just say it and know that you’re still going to rely on yourself, but truly believe that you didn’t do any of this: God did this. God gave you the black-belt in Karate, God gave you the winning speech in a Public Speaking competition, God gave you a new job that will help you with your finances–and God gives this to you because he knows He will be glorified. Trust in him, and never, ever depend on yourself or on your own strength, because once you start doing this, you’ll end up depending on your own, ‘mere mortal’ self; then the enemy will blur your visions, and then you start to blame God that he wasn’t there in the time of need.

And second, since this is getting a bit long:

1 Corinthians 1:24-25 (NLT)
24 But to those called by God to salvation, both Jews and Gentiles, Christ is the power of God and the wisdom of God. 25 This foolish plan of God is wiser than the wisest of human plans, and God’s weakness is stronger than the greatest of human strength.

Ha, how funny. God’s most foolish plan is wiser than the wisest of human plans. God’s weakness is stronger than the greatest of human strength. Sure we’re good at doing something, sure we’re now professionals and is number one in the category, but you know what, your strongest point does not even reach God’s weakest point. If you believe that what you’re doing, you’re doing it for the Glory of God, then He will lift you up and He will make you exceed your own capabilities and strength. He will use you to show people what He can do, so that they can follow Jesus and live an eternal life with him once you die.

Dear God,
I pray that with your help, I will be an instrument for you and not take lead of my own life. Help us not to be the driver’s of our vehicle because we know that won’t turn out well, but let you drive and trust in You with all of our hearts and in all of our ways. Help us to always give the glory back to you whenever someone gives us praise, and take no ownership of anything; but Lift your name up so that we can be a living testimony of your love and grace.

In Jesus’ name,

Amen.

17 responses to “Never depend on yourself or your strength.

  1. I appreciate this post very much. a much needed reminder that God’s got this and that he only gives us enough strength for each day. not tomorrow not 2 months from now, but just for each day. Putting ALL of yourself in the Lord is harder than it seems but so worth it! :)

  2. God makes things & people. He gives them names. One might say “Who named God?”. We speak back to the one who speaks our name. The sun shines with temperance. Who could make a house that goes on without stopping? God’s name is like a carpenter’s hell. Good thing we don’t have to lift God. I do my task and limit my questions. I know that’s not “in vogue” to follow, but its either that or be run over getting ahead and tripping. Duh! Heh.

    • Downtownmilwaukie, thanks so much for your comment! I must honestly and humbly confess, I don’t think I quite understand the background of your comment! haha! To be honest, I think God adores an inquisitive mind. I mean, he knows what’s inside your heart and what your thoughts are. You even said it yourself, he creates things and people… He created you, Psalm 139:16 says ‘You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed’. Now, I’m not saying to lean on your own understanding and question God–thinking that you know more than Him–but I am saying to believe in God, and question yourself and the way you live. I sometimes question how people in third-world countries can believe in God despite their living conditions and poverty, but how people living in a western-society, with comfort, shelter, food, family, and money can just totally reject God’s existence in the world. I read a story where a Pastor went to do a sermon in a small church in India, and with hesitation he asked the congregation before his talk, “what should we be thankful to God for, today?” In the moment of silence that past, he was convinced he should’ve just kept his mouth shut; but suddenly, a woman stood up, confused, and said, “Didn’t Jesus die on the cross for us? Didn’t he give us freedom and salvation?? We should be thankful because he loves us and will never leave us!”. That story always enlightens me. I feel as though when you’re stripped bare and naked and weak, with nothing else to hold on, then that’s when you can see and feel God. And this hurt and pain was part of his plan! God bless!

  3. Praise the Lord!

    This is a beautiful post with a beautiful prayer and message. This post contains some of my favorite and most repeated scripture verses. Thank you for expressing this truth so well.

  4. Amen! We are not our own, we are bought with a price. So God wants us to be entirely dependent on Him…He is all we need!

Care to share?

